Wednesday, February 16, 2011

A relatively enough innocent looking email:
New Version Release : Adobe Acrobat Reader 2011, Upgrade Available Now !
From: Adobe 
To: [my email address]


This is to remind that a new version of Adobe Acrobat Reader 2011 with enhanced features for viewing, creating, editing, printing and internet-sharing PDF documents has been released.
To check and download the latest version , go to :

Start downloading the update right now and let us know what you think about it.

We're working on making Adobe Acrobat Reader better all the time !

Thanks and best regards,

Adobe Support

© 2011 Adobe Systems Incorporated. All rights reserved.
Adobe Systems Incorporated | 343 Preston Street | Ottawa | ON | K1S 1N4 | Canada
But wait - since when does Adobe email customers?
Especially since I don't bother to mess my system with Adobe Acrobat? 
Something fishy here...

Whois for returns

Domain name:             ADOBE-PDF-UPGRADES.COM Name Server: Name Server: Creation Date:           2011.02.17  Status:                  DELEGATED  Registrant ID:           CRABZUX-RU Registrant Name:         Shawn Sijnstra Registrant Organization: Shawn Sijnstra Registrant Street1:      2938 Avenue Street Registrant City:         New York Registrant Postal Code:  20394 Registrant Country:      US  Administrative, Technical Contact Contact ID:              CRABZUX-RU Contact Name:            Shawn Sijnstra Contact Organization:    Shawn Sijnstra Contact Street1:         2938 Avenue Street Contact City:            New York Contact Postal Code:     20394 Contact Country:         US Contact Phone:           +1 877 8663849 Contact E-mail:  Registrar:               Regional Network Information Center, JSC dba RU-CENTER  Last updated on 2011.02.17 05:51:59 MSK/MSD

Hopefully no one downloads anything from a domain like that - claiming to be Adobe, yet being very fishy, on a newly registered domain.